top of page

Customize It... and Do it Yourself

If it isn’t perfect, customize it. Since I’m not a celebrity with the clout and $$$ to contact a designer for special pieces, I decided to do it myself. I spent about $22 dollars and now my tote bag is perfect. I purchased this Marc Jacobs tote bag just before my trip to New York in June. I usually carry a backpack when I travel but I wanted to try something different. My only complaint- the shoulder straps weren’t quite long enough. I thought it might be because I’ve been carrying a backpack for so long that I just needed to get used to it. Well, I carried it to Hawaii and Phoenix and I still felt the same way-the shoulder straps aren’t quite long enough. Or, is it that my shoulders are a bit more plump than usual? Anyway…While in Phoenix, I looked at a couple of Marc Jacob straps and thought, I wish I could just add a strap to it. Well, guess what? That’s exactly what I did.


There isn’t a place on the bag to add straps so I had to figure out how to add a strap that didn’t create too much damage and could be removed easily when I wanted to carry the bag in my hand, not on my shoulder. So, I did what I always do- I went to Pinterest and Amazon. Amazon sells these metal “pieces” that are used for leather crafts. They are called O-ring rivet screws. I ordered a set for $8.99. Then, instead of spending almost $80 on a Marc Jacobs strap (that might not work), I bought a strap from Amazon for $13.99.



So, what did I do?

To attach the O-ring, I had to make a tiny hole in the fabric. I was nervous about that but now realize that the hole is so tiny that you can’t even see it when it’s removed. I made a tiny hole with just the tip of an X-acto knife and inserted the O-ring. Then attached the second piece, which attaches like a screw. I added an O-ring to both sides and then just clipped on the strap. PERFECT! I can remove it when I don’t need it. I can switch the strap when I need a color change. I can lengthen or shorten the strap, if that’s needed as well. I could have used larger O-rings (and will eventually change them) but for now, it’s perfect. Like I always say, don’t be afraid to try something different.



So, what do you think of the change?





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page