top of page

From Mix-Match to Coordinated Class

Updated: Feb 21, 2022

I lied. I know I said that I would document my next project as I completed it a little at a time but my patience wouldn’t allow me to. I had big plans to complete a project in small steps over a few weeks. Well, once again, my patience wouldn’t allow such a thing. So, I took an entire weekend to work on this project. If you read my blog post, “How to Relieve Stress?”, you can read my intended plan. Well, I didn’t start when I was supposed to start and then once I got started, I didn’t want to stop.


So, here is what I started with- a mix-match looking entertainment center that I purchased in August 2020 for $53. I know it isn’t cute BUT it’s solid and it has good bones. So, I bought 2. One is still in the box in the garage. I’ll get to it one day. The original plan included white semi-gloss paint, gold drawer pulls, and gold H-shaped legs. Well, white just seemed too bland for the space and the legs were too tall. So, I used an eggshell (as opposed to matte) in the blue that’s on the opposite wall. The drawer pulls and legs (which are now hair-pin style) are gold. I used white and gold “peel and stick” wallpaper to cover the background and this is what I ended up with. I absolutely love it. It’s one of my favorite pieces.


From this…




To this…


I’m not sure about the decorative pieces. I kind of threw something together for the pictures.


Here is the price list and links to everything used for the project.


Entertainment center (Amazon): I only a paid a little over $50 for it. Unfortunately, it’s a lot more expensive now.

Paint/primer and supplies (Home Depot): I already had this.

Wallpaper (Amazon): I lined the back and the drawers with this paper.


What’s next?!? I’m working on the half bath, which currently looks like the bathroom at a correctional facility. Um, not that I would know anything about that but I’d imagine that’s the look. Kaitlyn took everything off the wall when she left for college and I never did anything else to it. So, it’s going to get a low-cost overhaul. I do mean—LOW COST. I also have another set of furniture that I need to repurpose. That’s for another weekend… when I’m home.


I have a ton of traveling coming up in October and November that I’m really excited about. Virginia (for the beach), Georgia (for a wedding), New York (to see The Rockettes and Chaka Khan), Puerto Vallarta (for Corey’s birthday), and we’re trying to figure out where to celebrate Christmas this year.


So, what your latest project?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page