top of page

How Do You Relieve Stress?

Updated: Feb 21, 2022


Do know what a stress-eater is? It’s sometimes referred to as an emotional eater.

Well, a stress/emotional eater is someone who uses food to help them deal with stressful situations. It’s me! I’m a stress eater. School starts in two days so my stress level is at an all-time high. My classroom nor my mind are ready for the 21-22 school year. I’m excited, just stressed. I’m even teaching a new class this year, Exploring Careers in Human Services.


Anyway, because I’m a stress-eater, my weight fluctuates. I’ve gain 20 lbs. in the last few months. Stressing and overindulging (while traveling) doesn’t look cute on me. I’ve got to get my weight under control, without “dieting”. I’ve got to focus my attention on something other than food. Previously, it was home DIYs or repurposing furniture pieces. With everything on my plate, I just don’t have time for it. Well, guess what? We make time for what’s important to us, right? My health/weight are important to me. Whew, I sure had fun this summer though.

So, I’m back at it. I’m committed to a DIY project that’s been sitting in the garage since June 2020. Yes, that long. I’m committed to working on my project for 30 minutes to an hour 3 days a week and getting a little exercise on the opposite days.

My girl, Natarsha, has motivated me to get it together. That can’t be that hard, can it? I’ve already mentioned that I’m a FACS teacher and FCCLA advisor but I’m also a lifestyle blogger and travel advisor, the president and founder of a non-profit, SHE Elite (that just got 501(c)(3) approved, by the way) and well, there is something else brewing but

just for me for now.


Let’s get to the project. I’m going to really document this project, step by step. I’m going to take you on this journey with me. If you see a bag of cracklin’ strips, a Lil’ Debbie, or a Coca-Cola in the background of a picture, please send me an encouraging text message because I’ve reached my breaking point. So, I purchased this piece of furniture in June 2020. I know, it’s totally not my style but the bones of it are very workable so my brain started working overtime. Y’all, it’s SOLID wood and I got it for $53.68. I thought it was an error so I ordered it thinking it would be cancelled. Well, when it showed up, I ordered another one. So, yes, I have 2 of the exact same piece. Guess how much it sells for now? $281.03.

My plan is to replace the entry table. I’ve had the same entry table since our 2nd home in Ohio. So, about 10 years. I do not plan to get rid it, just give it a little break. It is also solid wood but it also has these beautiful, curved drawers, so I’ll repurpose it one day.


Here is the inspiration for my project.


I know, it looks nothing like what I have but I love the white semi-gloss paint, gold pulls, and gold legs. So, that’s what I’m aiming for. Something that reminds me of this piece. I think I can pull this off for under $100, including what I paid for the console. I just need paint, pulls, and legs. My plan is to have this finished before the end of September. Again, only 3 days a week for 30 minutes to an hour. I’m going to start Monday, August 16th by simply removing the parts and spreading them out in the garage. The plan is to prime and paint one coat (of the front and back) of all parts before I assemble it. That’s going to take forever. I am not going to create a different post until it’s complete. I will update the status in this post during each step. Simply check the “last update” date for the newest update. Hopefully, when it's finished, I've shed at least 7 pounds.


So, what do you do as a stress reliever? Share in the comments below.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page