top of page

From Recessed to Pendant

Updated: Feb 21, 2022



I took on another electrical project and I love it. Although I like the recessed lights in our kitchen, I’ve always wanted a pendant light over the island. I thought I’d have to hire an electrician to complete the conversion because there are some electrical projects I’m not confident enough to try. Well, one day while talking to my friend, Alexa, I thought I’d ask her if the universe had designed a recessed light conversion kit. Low and behold, her infamous daddy (Amazon) had a kit for… $18. Yes, 1-8. Since my patient is around zero, I looked online at Home Depot and Lowe’s to see if I could get it the same day. Nope, not in stock. So, I had to wait two whole days for it to arrive from Amazon.


I typically tackle my projects on the weekend because my weekdays are super busy and I’m always super tired. Do you know how much energy it takes to teach hormonal middle schoolers? Were we that way at that age? Anyway, how lucky am I to have a recessed light directly over my island? I know right? Perfect. Have you ever been so excited about something that you forget to take pictures. Yall, not a single “during” picture. Probably because it was so simple. No worries though. Amazon has a how-to video here. Of course, I can’t change one light without being extra and changing two more. So, the light over the table had to change because the table changed. I didn’t want a small 1 light pendant over a rectangle table so I bought the light that matched the new one over the island. And, I finally changed the ceiling fan in the living room. Yall, I know. I should have changed it back in 2016 when we moved in. It’s not my style but I had to find the perfect one. I’m glad I waited though.





So, how do you feel about electrical projects? Do they make you nervous? I’ll be the first to admit that I was scared at first. After watching someone put up a ceiling fan after charging me $100, I refused to pay another person to do it again. It looked so simple. Plus, I love putting together stuff so the only difference is remember to turn off the power so I don’t shock (or worse, electrocute) myself. And remember, my patient is at zero so I’m not waiting on anyone else to do it if I can do it myself. I haven’t fell off a ladder or shocked myself…. Yet. Next update-- NEW APPLIANCES! "Hey Corey... let me talk to you about something." LOL!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page