top of page

Traveling During Covid-19

Updated: Feb 21, 2022



Wow! What a time to start a travel business, huh? I started training in 2019 but January 1st marked my first official day as a travel advisor. Not long after that, everything travel related pretty much came to a halt due to Covid-19. 2020 has thrown us quite a few curveballs, hasn't it? We were forced to cancel every single group trip, except for Christmas. Thankfully, we managed to travel to France and Belgium 2 weeks before the shutdown. Boy, were we lucky. We are hoping the Christmas trip happens but for now, it's a waiting game. So, what's the plan for be.wander+love, you asked? Traveling is a big part of my life and that won't change. I will also continue to offer booking services once the world returns to its new "normal" and we start to venture out again. Primary services will be air/land packages- domestic and international. I will not book cruises. I am not confident in the cruise industry right now and would not want to subject myself nor my clients to cruise travel at this time.


I've been asked if I believe it's safe to travel. My answer is "yes" and "no". Do I think it's safe to go to a waterpark? Absolutely not! Would I rent an AirBnB and relax on a beach that isn't crowded? Absolutely! I've done just that. With an AirBnB, you have more control over who you come in contact with. You can do some additional cleaning before you bring in your personal items and unpack. You can order groceries and have a porch drop-off. Or, you can take you own food. You can order take out or GrubHub. There are so many different ways you can protect yourself when you travel in this way. I've taken 2 such trips in the last month. Traveling is just different for me now. We used to hop in a car and drive like it was nothing. I remember driving from Ohio to SC to drop off the kids and then driving to Delaware. That was nuts. I don't care for driving anymore but since Covid-19, I've had to suck it up and drive the past few weeks.. I have not been on an airplane since February. Unless it's absolutely necessary, I probably won't be on an airplane for the rest of the year. Oh my gosh! I can't believe I said that. Better safe than sorry, right?!?




Next year: We are hopeful that 2021 will prove to be a better year for the travel industry. It took a hard hit. We still have plans for 2 major group trips in February 2021 and late June/early July 2021. Those are the usual group travel dates but more will be added if the situation allows. We are still aiming for Morocco and Spain for June 2021 but we will have a US destination as a backup. I hope that all of you remain safe and healthy during this time and as always live life with no excuses and travel with no regrets.





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page